ASEAN Business Awards 2019

Posted on:
24.07.2019 by RECOTVET

Implementing Institutions:
ASEAN Business Advisory Council

Supporting Institutions:


Scale of Initiative:


UPDATE: The ASEAN Business Award 2019 has been successfully concluded. Kindly find all winners here.



The ASEAN Business Awards

The ASEAN Business Awards (ABA) was first launched by the ASEAN Business Advisory Council (ASEAN-BAC) in 2007 to mark ASEAN's 40th anniversary. The ABA has been running for over 10 years, recognising more than 100 outstanding ASEAN businesses that have shown significant progress in establishing and reinforcing their positions in various sectors and contributing to ASEAN’s economic growth and prosperity. In addition, the Awards also bring to the spotlight promising ASEAN small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) with the potential to become global economic players.

The Award categories in 2019 are:

  • Priority Integration Sectors (a total of 17 categories covering major sectors)
  • SME Excellence (with 4 sub categories: Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR), Employment, Growth, and Innovation)
  • Family Business
  • Young Entrepreneur
  • Sustainable Social Enterprise
  • Green Enterprise
  • Startup and IDE (Innovation Driven Entrepreneur)
  • Skills Development
  • Women Entrepreneur
  • Friends of ASEAN
  • Digitalized MSME

Award winners will be announced at the gala dinner that takes place as part of the annual high-level ASEAN Business and Investment Summit (ABIS) on 2 November 2019 in Bangkok, Thailand.

The Skills Development Award

This year, ASEAN-BAC with support of the German government's Regional Cooperation Programme to Improve the Quality and Labour Market Orientation of Technical and Vocational Education and Training (RECOTVET), launches a new category called the ASEAN Skills Development Award. The Award highlights the role human capital plays in the growth of companies and the economy of the region as a whole. The new category recognises outstanding companies that have demonstrated a significant contribution to human capital development, especially in the current context of technological disruption.

The ABA welcomes all eligible companies which are improving the quality of skills of the workforce through skilling, reskilling or upskilling activities to submit an application. Companies who actively cooperate with public training institutes or government authorities, who prepare the workforce for Industry 4.0 or whose activities are easily replicable in other sectors or ASEAN members states are particularly encouraged to apply. Examples of human capital development activities that companies might engage in are: offering guided internships or apprenticeships for students from technical or vocational education and training (TVET) institutes, supporting the development of skill standards or labour-market oriented training curricula, upgrading the skills of teachers, unemployed workers or existing company staff, or providing career orientation for young people.

Winners of the Skills Development Award are expected to be companies that set an inspiring example for other businesses in contributing to the human capital development of ASEAN’s workforce.

Why join?

Why Join

Companies that join the ABA benefit from a validation and recognition of their work. In addition, joining the ABA offers companies networking opportunities and exposure to the ASEAN business community, particularly through the large and diverse audience attending the annual ABIS and gala dinner, where winners will be announced.

The ABA confers respect and enhances the credibility of your company brand among industry peers. Many of the most recognised businesses in ASEAN today are among ABA's past awardees. The ABIS and gala dinner also enjoy widespread coverage by international and local media outlets as one of the most anticipated annual events of ASEAN’s business community.

Who can apply?

  • Be an ASEAN-incorporated enterprise with at least 40% ASEAN-owned equity, and preferably (not compulsory) with operational presence in two or more ASEAN countries;
  • Be in operations for a minimum of three years;
  • Preferably have two years of financial statements (audited or non-audited);
  • Demonstrate the development of a skilled workforce, especially considering the expected impacts of Industry 4.0 for a competitive and dynamic ASEAN economic community;
  • Fulfill at least one of the following conditions: 1) Large-Tier: An annual revenue of a minimum of USD 15 million / Minimum of 200 employees; Or 2) SME: Need to comply with the SME Criteria defined by respective ASEAN Member States.

What are the criteria?

  1. Impact on human capital development through improvements of the quality of skills of the workforce
  2. Cooperation with governments or training institutes
  3. Innovation and replicability in other sectors or ASEAN member states
  4. Sustainability financially and institutionally

How to apply?

Tell us how you contribute to human capital development in ASEAN by submitting your nomination before 14 September 2019 to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. For more information go to ASEAN-BAC official page

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.